Imbolc Ritual Summary

Imbolc Ritual
January 31st, 2016
Deities of the Occasion: Bríd
Offerings: storytelling / woven yarn
Omen: Tiwaz – Lagu – Fehu
Return flow: bread
Attendees: 9

Notes:

As with Yule, it was unseasonably warm on the day of the ritual, with temps in the 40s. Things didn’t get off to a great start for me personally, as the cab driver dropper me off on a large patch of wet ice, and I couldn’t get enough traction to move my wheelchair. Fortunately I got there early enough that the last few folks leaving the event before us were able to push me to drier ground.

Once Rodney arrived, we got things set up quickly enough. One advantage of the indoor site is that I can be semi-useful with setup, as linoleum tiles are a lot easier for me to move myself on than dirt!

We did the same central portion of the rite as last Imbolc, with each of us telling a part of a story while tying pieces of yarn together. This time, Gen found a large spool I could wind the completed cord onto, which I thought added an oomph to the process that we didn’t have last year. Hopefully it looked as good as it felt.

The return flow was bread that was incredibly solid and needed to be perforated with a knife for any of us to be able to tear off a piece. Next year we need something softer!

The potluck was quite good! The reuben-flavored and gyro-flavored potato chips got mixed reviews, which is better than I was expecting. (As I expected, I liked the gyro but could not get into the reuben.) No raffle this time as there were so few of us.

Next up will be our equinox ritual to Ana. I’ll be interested to see how many people who attended my river goddess workshop at ConVocation decide to attend.

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

Leave a Reply

