Fall Equinox Ritual Summary

Fall Equinox Ritual
September 20th, 2015
Deity of the Occasion: The Dagda
Offerings: pork stew, first fruits
Omen: Gamma – Tau – Lambda
Return flow: pork stew from the Dagda’s cauldron
Attendees: 6

Notes:

No Fire Watch this time, because I couldn’t get a ride, my ride service doesn’t go to the nemeton, and I’m not spending $40 for a round trip to an event that nobody else seems interested in attending these days. I’m guessing that we won’t be doing any more Fire Watches except at Samhain.

So I got there a bit after 2, later than I like but early enough to get my altar items set up among the Grove’s ritual paraphernalia with Stephie’s help. Since I wasn’t leading the ritual this time, mental preparation wasn’t a huge concern for me.

As with last time, many of our members had things come up that prevented them from attending, so we had to get by with just the six of us, though maintaining ritual flow wasn’t as much as issue as last time since everyone had been to one of our rites before. Rod led the ritual, which we’d decided should honor the Dagda. We offered the first fruits of the harvest (weird looking, I mean, natural looking carrots) and pork stew that Gen had made, then, after I used my new app to take the omen at a Grove rite for the first time in many years, shared the rest of the stew as the return flow.

It was a lovely day and a good ritual, even if only a few of us were there to see it. Here’s hoping that Samhain will be just as good and maybe a little warmer than usual!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

Leave a Reply

