Imbolc Ritual Summary

Imbolc Ritual
January 25th, 2015
Deities of the Occasion: Bríd
Offerings: bread / woven yarn circle
Omen: Nauthiz – Thurisaz – Algiz
Return flow: bread and cheese
Attendees: 16

Notes:

Another good turnout when not scheduling the ritual on Super Bowl Sunday. The down side of doing it early is that we missed getting listed in some of the area “what’s happening for Imbolc” postings, plus we had one interested new person who apparently didn’t check the calendar and just assumed we were doing it on the 1st. When the seven year cycle swings this way again, we should really reconsider the possibility of doing it on the second Sunday in February. But since the weeks shift around next year, we’ll probably end up doing it on January 31st regardless.

Gen and I didn’t get there until quarter past 2, so I was very happy to see the ritual items already set up, but not thrilled that I didn’t have time to mentally prepare myself as I like to do. Hopefully my performance didn’t suffer as a result.

Also unfortunate: Gen didn’t bring the Bríd dolly from her home, and I didn’t think to ask her because knowing how well she gets along with Bríd, I never considered that she might be the one who had it. I called Rodney that morning to make sure he brought her, and the poor guy spent I don’t know how long looking for it at his house, unsuccessfully of course. I will note that Gen did light a candle for the dolly when she got home, and we’ll make sure that she’s present next year.

The group offering was each of us tying a piece of thread into a chain while telling one line of a story and passing it around the circle. It went more smoothly than I’d anticipated and I definitely got a good feeling from it. Now that we’re honoring Bríd as a goddess of inspiration instead of focusing on her hearth aspect, our rituals definitely have a better flow to them.

The omen was questionable, but Rod said he had a good feeling from it, so we went with that. With Algiz at the end, I’d interpret it as the energy of the fire penetrating through a barrier to help us connect to the divine.

After the rite, we actually had enough people to run a successful raffle, and the youth project involved making groundhog puppets. Or maybe they were beavers, I’m not sure.

All in all, a wonderful rite, and it was good to see so many old friends again and meet a few new ones!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

Leave a Reply

