Beltaine Ritual Summary

Beltaine Ritual

May 4th, 2014

Deity of the Occasion: Aren

Offerings: oil

Omen: Tiwaz – Hagalaz – Ingwaz

Return flow: tulips, fire jumping

20 attendees

 

Notes:

Sadly, I couldn’t attend either the nemeton clean-up day or Fire Watch, I’m told that other people did and that they were successful and enjoyed.

No Dawn Rite this year, for the first time since 1994, since I couldn’t get transportation to Big Lake and couldn’t find anyone else willing to do it that early in the morning. Hopefully we can resume next year.

Using my walker on the trail went well, not only did I not fall while going up and down the sloped part, it didn’t even require that much exertion. Hopefully with exercise I’ll continue to improve at its use.

After eighteen Beltaine ritual with SLG, I guess the odds favored me actually drawing the lot to be the May king . I was worried that the energy flow of running the ritual and being the May King would be awkward, but it seemed to go well enough. Jumping the fire was obviously out of the question, but Drum did a fine job in my place.

The many decorations really added a lot to the festive atmosphere, my thanks to Candy and Gen for organizing that!

It’s a shame nobody brought any May wine, but the tulips that Gen brought made a decent improvised substitute. (I wonder how Grove who don’t have florists as members do thing?)

Very happy to see so many new folks there!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

Leave a Reply

