Farewell, Raven

(Posted by the ADF ArchDruid on Wednesday:)

This morning Rev. George Lee (Raven Mann) passed away in the presence of his wife. He had been in the hospital for an operation due to his failing health and had an unexpected blood clot in his lungs. He was 49.

Raven Mann was an effective priest and ritual leader, and also an accomplished liturgist. He served as the ADF Preceptor during the latter half of Rev. Skip Ellison’s term as Archdruid and made many contributions to the deliberations of the ADF Clergy Council. His passing will be a great loss to ADF.

Our thoughts and prayers go out to his wife, Rev. Kelly Kingston (Carrion Mann) and their daughter Morrighan at this sad time. We also pray that he may pass quickly to the Otherworlds in the company of his Ancestors.

Raven, we will miss you, and we pray that you will lift a glass in the Otherworlds when we call on our Ancestors in the years to come. With cries of “ghosti!” we trust that you have now joined the ranks of the Ancient Wise for the benefit of us all.

Goodbye for now, old friend.

Rev. Kirk Thomas
ADF Archdruid

I can’t say that I knew Raven super-well. I knew him as well as I knew anyone who I mostly interacted with on e-mail lists, I suppose. Despite my lack of transportation for most of the time he was in ADF, I was fortunate enough to see Raven in person a few times, including a few months ago right after the Clergy Retreat. His work on our Study Programs during his time as ADF Preceptor was both impressive and much needed. From now on, every time I see one of our members finish the Dedicant Program, I’m going to remember him and how hard he worked to make that process easier and more complete than it was when I did it back in the 90’s. And his insights into how clergy should function in a Grove, based on his time as a Protestant minister, were always enlightening.

A memorial site has been created for donations to the Mann family. You can make a donation at 6thnight.org. All funds will go the family.

Sadly, my current work situation means I won’t have the option of going to the memorial service in Erie tomorrow. I will certainly be making offerings for him at our next ritual, and anyone else is welcome to join me in doing so. In the meantime, please keep his family in your prayers.

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

Leave a Reply

