An Old Rite And A New Site

So, a few things to report this week:

At last week’s An Bruane, our first actual attempt at monthly ritual went well, with four of us making the trip to my home in South Lyon (okay, me making the trip probably isn’t much of a hardship) for a Roman-style Lupercalia. And we know it was Roman-style, because we had to restart it twice because of errors! But it was good to honor the gods and get blessed by being hit by a thong (not that hard, I’m not into that), and the smells of the incense were amazing. Sadly, though, that underscored m biggest concern about monthly ritual: finding a site where we can actually do it properly. Our only likely candidate right now is the ICC Ed Center, the place where we do our Yule ritual, and they have a strict policy about no candles or incense or alcohol. And I really feel like we’ll be missing a lot if we can’t use any of those for monthly rites. Would our Lupercalia have worked as well with no flame for Vesta, and no wine or incense for any of the gods? We get by with electric candles for Yule, and in fairness we usually don’t get a Hek of a lot of people showing up for Yule, so maybe we shouldn’t even be doing Yule there, free of rental fees though it may be. But I still have my reservations about having them in anyone’s home, and my home in particular is not the easiest to get to. And so the quest for a better location continues.

And speaking of other locations, we had our first Coffee Hour at the “other” Borders on Friday. My own personal nightmare scenario once again came to pass: A new person showed up early, and nobody else showed up until 7:30. Folks, you know I look like a creepy old man who’s trying to trick people into something weird, do not put me in the position where I have to convince the new person that I didn’t make up the whole “Grove” thing to make them come to Borders and sit with me! But eventually other people actually did show up, and our final attendance was nine, about what we usually get for a Coffee Hour in March. The only down side was that I spent most of the session answering questions from the new person, and didn’t really get to socialize. Worse, when others decided to go out to eat after Borders closed, I couldn’t join them because I had volunteered to work on Saturday. Yep, the first Sasturday in months that I wasn’t required to go in, and I opted to because I could use the money. I actually act like a responsible adult for once, and I miss out on something I wanted to do. >8( So anyway, a good first turnout for the Borders that none of us really like. I still need to visit the Sweetwaters on Plymouth and see if it would be better suited to our needs.

Other than that, the biggest Pagan news for me personally is that I’ve nearly finished with the First Moon of Ian Corrigan’s Nine Moons magical training system. It’s been interesting so far, nothing super-advanced from my perspective after doing ADF Druidry and meditation and such for fifteen years, but then this is just the first month, and the next eight will build in intensity, so we shall see how it goes!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “An Old Rite And A New Site

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Missy:
    Yeah, the First Moon is designed to get us used to his format so that it can be less of a hinderance when we get to the “good stuff.” It’s different from what I usually do, but I’m being open-minded and finding his work to be quite adaptable. :)

    Also, I want to have a coffee hour of random socializing at a bookstore! *jealous!*
    Blessings,
    M
    Tuesday, March 29th 2011 @ 1:02 AM

    Posted by Rob Henderson:
    You don’t? Other than rituals, I’d have thought that a coffee social was the most common kind of event held by ADF Groves.
    Tuesday, March 29th 2011 @ 6:32 AM

    Posted by Lisbet:
    Re: Coffee Hour arrival time —
    Given that some of us don’t get out of work til after 6 PM, and then have to gulp down a quick dinner, we’re never, ever going to make it to Borders before 7:30. So you can change the starting time, or deal with greeting the new people on your own. But don’t worry, you’re not as creepy as you think you are!;)
    Tuesday, March 29th 2011 @ 7:31 PM

    Posted by Celestial Elf:
    Great Insight into your group thank you,
    thought you might enjoy my Beltane Blessing machinima film

    Bright Blessings
    elf ~

Leave a Reply

