ConVocation 2011 Wrap-Up

So, another lone post to make in the echoing chamber of this blog space. At the moment I’m leaning toward making posts just for High Days and other big topics as they come up. Sadly, with as many other Paganish things as I’m doing now (including beginning the Nine Moons Work this week), I’m finding it all too easy not to do weekly blog posts, but I do still think the write-ups of ritual weekends have some use, so I won’t delete the thing just yet.

ConVocation! The frenzy, the fun, the fluffiness!The relatively small Midwestern version of Pantheacon!  I was going to do another journal at the convention, similar to what I did last year, but with fewer of my Grovemates in attendance, I has to spend more time keeping the room running, so I never quite found the time to devote my thoughts to writing. Thanks to some last-minute donations and the kind understanding of the convention staff, we did manage to get the suite we had reserved. The stress of facing the possibility of losing our $300 deposit – or more accurately, the $300 Jean gave us for one of the bedrooms – was not fun. Right now, I’m thinking that unless we get like a thousand dollars in donations by August, we’re not even going to attempt to get a suite next year. It would be worth considering getting a smaller room for Grove activities instead, but given how early the hotel fills up and my reluctance to reserve a room that I don’t know I’ll be able to pay for, that may not work out either. The real question may be whether we need a room when so few SLG members seem interested in attending the convention at all, but I’ll get to that in a bit.

One definite improvement over last year was that several people actually attended the four events we had scheduled in the room, up from zero people attending last year. Granted, most of them were ADF members, but we did have a few non-ADF folk at my small Apollo/Hekate rite on Saturday afternoon. This was the same rite I submitted for the convention programming but wasn’t accepted. I’d have gone for something bigger and wordier if it had been part of the official programming, but knowing that I would have a smaller group, I kept it minimalist, but still Core Order, and actually performed the “Waters of Life” blessing for I think the second time in my life. Barbara Wright said she really liked it, so that meant a lot to me, I don’t often do rites with other ADF clergyfolk in attendance.
We also had Jean do a Bardic presentation for credit in the Bardic Guild Study program, and an introduction to the ADF Study Program, and Kestrel did her workshop on Warrior Women.

So other than sitting in the room and answering questions for the oh so few non-ADF folks who did stop by throughout the weekend, what did I do? I did attend three official events, which I think is about triple the number I did last year. The Iron Ritualist workshop was an intriguing creative experience, where we had fifteen minutes to devise a five-minute ritual of some sort using the items they gave us, though sadly we had to be in teams so I didn’t get to do the Druidic ritual I’d hoped to do. And I don’t think most of the folks with speaking parts quite got the “five minute” thing, our own group’s invocations took over two minutes by themselves. But as an exercise in creating liturgy quickly and with limited materials, it was fascinating, and I’d love to try to run this at Wellspring or Midnight Flame for ADF folks to try out.

Saturday evening, despite a few trepidations after the Lansing folks told me about Jason Mankey’s ritual techniques (many involving alcohol), I did go ahead and attend his “traditional Greek ritual” to Aphrodite and Dionysus. An odd pairing to me, since I associate Aphrodite with maintaining cultural stability (in her Pandemos aspect) and Dionysus is a bit more, um, unpredictable. >8) I’ll say this, though, the rite was pretty authentic. No Wiccan rite with Greek deities stuck in, certainly, and the purifications and reading of the hymns would have been right at home in any Hellenion or Neokoroi rite. But there were the usual problems I see when folks who aren’t used to running big public rituals try to run big public rituals. He really should have set up the altar space so people could stand around it rather than all pressing into it from one side (Icouldn’t even see it for most of the rite), and sure it’s okay to tell people not to say “blessed be” in a Hellenic rite, but if you’re the one running it, you really should know what they actually *did* say so people can say it. (“Esto!” It’s just like “presto” but without the P.R.) And the emphasis on honoring Aphrodite as an uncontrolled deity who was feared/hated by the Greek patriarchy – er, really? (Or in Greek: Alethia, Jason?) Not where I’d have gone with it, certainly. And then there was the “transformative” part of the ritual that he warned us about in the pre-ritual briefing (and total props for actually having a pre-ritual briefing), involving a guided visualization of the two deities, for which I thought I should probably sneak out before that part started. But I didn’t. And I really should have. I won’t bore you all with my issues with the two gods, but yeah, I’d have enjoyed it  lot more without that.

And Sunday morning, I managed to do my “Truth About Hades” class on not enough sleep, and beyong saying that Hades’ helm of invisibility was a cloak (too much Harry Potter on the brain, clearly), I think I did okay. Sadly I had to cut it short because the class was 9:30 to 11, hotel check-out was 11, and they wouldn’t give us an extension, so I had to dash back to the suite at 10:30 to get it cleaned. Fortunately Amy and Mel had gotten a lot of it done and we did manage to get everything out on time.

And at noon, before I headed home, I stopped by Rob (Keefer, not me) and Aine’s class on experiencing deity, which when I heard it was going to involve channeling, I once again thought it was time to leave early. But I stuck it out, and it wasn’t too bad, but definitely not something I personally am into. But it’s always good to remember why I’m not a Wiccan any more. >8) I’m definitely glad they introduced concepts of hard and soft polytheism to a crowd that might not get exposed to hard polytheism that often.

So, the class and ritual selection that was available this year. It was a big topic of discussion, at least among folks who’ve been talking to me about the convention for the last month. (First question: Why isn’t there an ADF ritual on the schedule? After finding out that I submitted one and it wasn’t accepted: Wait, they didn’t take your Greek ritual but they did take Mankey’s? I have no answer to that one, beyond his being more popular than me, and cuter too.) A lot of people who had been planning to attend the convention changed their minds when the programming schedule went up. I can remember when Jane Sibley came to do workshops on the Runes and Norse ritual and drew a huge crowd. But over the years, there’ve been fewer of the reconstructionist classes and rituals, and more and more classes devoted to Energy Work Technique A, Energy Work Technique B, Energy Work Technique C, and Wicca. (Hek, this year, I didn’t even see that many Wiccan classes on the schedule.) To me, it felt like the programming was shifting more and more toward fluffiness (I still can’t believe there was a “Course in Miracles” class this year), and less and less reason for me to want to spend money (serious money, given my current income) to be there. (Of course, if my ritual had been on the schedule as well as my class, then my entire membership would have been comped, so there’s one more reason for me to be annoyed about its rejection.) And with as many of my Grovemates who had been planning to attend but then cancelled, I seem not to be the only one.

What’s the solution? There’s no easy one, from my perspective. Having organized the programming at ADF festivals before, I know all too well that the programming staff can’t put recon/scholarly classes on the schedule if they don’t have any submitted. But if their reputation continues to be that fluffy classes rule the day, the few people we could convince to submit those non-fluffy classes are going to be harder and harder to convince. A public statement from MEC that they would like to have more scholarly and recon programming on the schedule next year would help. But they’d need to mean it, of course. I know that other conventions will have “tracks” set up for particular interests so that none of the workshops/rituals/etc. in that category get scheduled against each other, so attendees who want to go to all of those events and none of the others can do so. I think that it would be good for ConVocation, to have a “scholarly” track, assuming that they can get enough event to fill the track.

(Actually, my dream technique to change it would be to have Ceisiwr Serith as a guest next year. He’s got a new book out, lots of Pagans have read his earlier books, he’s a recognizable name among the recon crowd, and an indoor convention would be perfect for him, given that he hates outdoor camping even more than I do and almost never attends festivals because of that. Where do I file that suggestion so MEC actually sees it? And don’t say “their Web site”, that thing has lost every message I’ve sent them for the last two years.)

Beyond that, the big question is whether we even try to get a suite next year. There’s clearly a demand for it. at least among ADF members who spent most of the weekend congregating there, and I just wish the interest translated into dollars. On the other hand, I remember when the SLG room actually got non-ADF members to show up for things, in particular our room parties. (One of the many reasons I’m sad that Gen and I have broken up. She could organize parties. I can’t.) At least a few times this weekend, I looked around the suite and thought, “enclave”. If we didn’t have a suite to retreat to, would we be engaging the masses of the convention a little more than we seem to be doing? Actually, no, we’d probably just not be showing up at all. I don’t mind being contrarian in the service of something I feel strongly about (ask me about ADF’s emphasis on honoring the Earth Mother some time >8) but as much as I enjoy being the not-fluffy not-Wiccan standing up for Druidry amidst the New Age hordes, a thousand dollars that we don’t have is a rather expensive way to do that. I almost feel like running our own smaller convention would be an easier way to do that. Okay, probably not.

So as not to end the article sad or angry, I will share a few of the small things that really did brighten my weekend. Meeting everyone in the suite, and a few old friends outside of the suite, was amazing. (Though meeting a 21 year old I hadn’t seen since he was 11 was, um, frightening.) (And apparently I look just the same as I did ten years ago, which I guess is a good thing?) I won the FOCAS goodie basket at the raffle, which included chocolate bars, a mouse pad, a T-shirt, and a one year membership in FOCAS. (I guess they finally found a way for me to join!) Oh, and apparently I’ve also volunteered to run FOCAS’ fall equinox rite for them, a much less expensive way to bring Druid ritual to the non-Druids. Stopping by the drumming with Janek was fun, he seemed to enjoy the sound, though he had no interest in being put down so he could dance. And I bought a small dragon refrigerator magnet made by Amie at the Art show, my only Art Show purchase ever at ConVocation.

So will I and/or the Grove be attending next year? Given how up in the air my own financial and living situation is, I can’t honestly say for myself. (Wellspring this year will be enough of a challenge.) But I hope that I can be there, and I hope there are a few more interesting things on the schedule for me to do.

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “ConVocation 2011 Wrap-Up

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Missy:
    Sounds like you still managed to have a good time! I echo your feelings re: the portrayal of Aphrodite. W??

    I saw you were added to the Nine Moons group. I’m rather excited to be able to go through this IP business in more of a pseudo-group fashion.

    See you at Wellspring!
    M
    Tuesday, March 1st 2011 @ 3:43 AM

    Posted by Jason Mankey:
    I have done extensive research into the worship of Aphrodite in the ancient world, and in Athens especially, she was sometimes seen as a threat to the patriarchal order. Of course, Greek gods were extremely complicated and capable of serving many functions. Aphrodite was also a goddess of child birth, definitely something pertaining to “cultural stability” as you put it. Any Goddess who says “go ahead, have sexual relations with someone other than your husband” is a threat.

    I arranged the altar in a way to make it more “Greek.” Greeks didn’t do rituals in a circle. You are right it was hard to see, and I apologize. I honestly only expected twenty five people. I was surprised with the turn out. Coming from California for Con I didn’t have a large posse with me to make quick last second changes.

    You are right about the wording, but I wanted people to feel comfortable and not have to think about anything. Most of my rituals don’t involve alcohol, but the “Morrison Ritual” hangs like a large shadow over everything I do in public.

    I agree with you on a lot of your criticisms about Pcon workshops, and I’d love to see an ADF Ritual there.

    -jason
    Friday, April 1st 2011 @ 7:08 PM

    Posted by Rob Henderson:
    Thanks for posting here, Jason! I only wish I had one of those “it’s not spam!” sound clips from Futurama to go with it. >8)

    Sadly, my Grovemates have already voted not to attend ConVocation next year as a group, or submit any ritual or workshop, or get a suite again. (And the business meeting where we voted on this, and I was saying we should give them one more chance and everyone else was dropping F-bombs, was quite the change of pace. >8)

    I can still submit my own proposals, of course, but I’m honestly not sure if it’ll be worth the effort if my ritual gets shot down yet again.
    Friday, April 1st 2011 @ 7:35 PM

Leave a Reply

