I Saw My Shadow, So Six Weeks Of No Posts

Last Thursday, I stopped by the Ann Arbor District Library downtown to attend an interfaith event hosted by the Interfaith Council for Peace and Justice. Local Wiccan priest (and friend of the Grove) Rev. Rob Keefer was one of the five speakers there, discussing what forms of discrimination their local congregations had faced and what they had done to fight it. I admit I was a little disappointed to hear Rob only mention a few things that he and his group had done, compared to what felt like a long laundry list of complaints. I know I’d rather see Pagans define ourselves by who we are and what we do rather than who hates us and what they do to us. Of course, the other speakers did much the same thing, so I guess that’s fair.

I’m certainly glad of the work that Rob and Aine at Crossroads Tabernacle Church have done, not to mention a bit envious. (At some point I need to translate the phrase “may my burning jealousy act as a flame of inspiration” into Greek and make it my personal motto.) They get prison ministry work done, and I… have a blog. Okay, I guess I do other things too, and they may actually matter to people besides myself. (I certainly hope that the research on monthly rituals I did tonight in preparation for tomorrow’s An Bruane will lead to something great for SLG and others.) But attending that panel only further drove home that the time I’ve spent writing these articles doesn’t seem to have had much of an impact on anyone, and what impact it has seems to be more negative than helpful. Sure, I knew going into this that negative online posts gets more responses than positive ones (I’ve been using the Internet for 25 years now, and that rule’s been a constant) but I was hoping for better here. And right now, I know I could be doing more useful work elsewhere. Pretty much anywhere elsewhere, from the feel of it.

So what to do? Well, I won’t kill the blog. For now. I look to Three Cranes Grove’s tradition of Anagantios, which they’ll be beginning shortly, as inspiration here. Simply put, I’m taking a month or so off from this blog so I can do other things. I’ll return on February 6th for the post-Brideog/Imbolc write-up, but other than that the next article here won’t be posted until after ConVocation. When I’ve had some time away to do other things – and perhaps more importantly, when I find out whether anyone actually cares that it’s on hiatus – I’ll figure out what to do with it.

For now, may the many blessings of Bríd and the imbolc season be with you!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “I Saw My Shadow, So Six Weeks Of No Posts

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Jim Clare:
    I am a lurker to this blog and wanted you to know that I apprecieate what you do here. I am about ready to join the ADF and start meeting some local people as well.
    Friday, January 21st 2011 @ 1:47 PM

    Posted by Rob Henderson:
    Good to hear it! What area do you live in?
    Friday, January 21st 2011 @ 6:07 PM

    Posted by Julie:
    Hey Rob,not to worry,you still have blog readers,and I think the articles you post are well written!
    Friday, January 21st 2011 @ 8:49 PM

Leave a Reply

