Are We There Yet?

So when I started this blog, I wasn’t sure for how long I would keep doing it. (As opposed to all the other bloggers who start out with exact end dates in mind?) Never having blogged before, I didn’t know how long it would be before I got bored with it, or just found that I’d run out of things to say. I promised myself I’d make an extra effort to keep it going for at least a year, and see how it went. If I made it past that point, then I figured three years was a good Druidic number to aim for. (That, or nineteen years for the solar/lunar eclipse cycle, but nineteen years is like a thousand years in Internet time.) And the three year mark will be on… Thursday. Three days from now.

And right now, I’m honestly not sure if I want to keep doing this. When going through my e-mail yesterday, I found one that I’d missed when it first hit my inbox a few weeks ago, and I’m still not sure how that happened. But it threw me for a loop. It was a letter of concern about the post from a few weeks ago about “The Question”. The letter said that it was in appropriate that I was writing something that made it look like we weren’t welcoming to people with diverse beliefs. (Very upsetting to me, since I thought the entire point of the article was to prove that we were.) It also said that if I had a problem with people asking the same question over and over again, I’d better learn some patience. (Given that I’ve been seeing this question asked every few months for the last fourteen years and this is the first time I’ve ever posted anything online about how frustrating that is, I know I don’t deserve a 100% ranking on patience, but I’d like to think my ranking is still in the 90s.)

But there was one part of the letter that I was in full agreement with. It asked it writing an FAQ wouldn’t have been a better use of my time than writing this. And honestly, yeah, it would have. For all my joking comments about having only six readers here, I don’t doubt that an FAQ on the Grove’s Web site would get more readers, and more appropriate readers at that. The FAQs we have up now are well out of date, and time I’ve spent writing for this blog is time I could have spent updating those and adding new ones. Or I could spend that same time working on my CTP coursework, or reading, or playing computer games, which would at least make *me* feel better about myself. Or I could just make time to go to non-Grove  Pagan events in the area, which would do a better job of outreach than this blog does. Hek, if my attempts at serious thoughtful articles are going to come across as saying the exact opposite of what I intended, then literally doing nothing would be a better use of my time, for both me and my Grove.

So where to go from here? For my metaphorical money, this is the kind of decision I want to meditate on, literally. I’ll spend some time during the next few weeks in prayer and meditation, asking my Gods and Ancestors what I should do. And I’ll let y’all know my end decision here.

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “Are We There Yet?

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Todd ‘Toad’ McGuire:
    Rob,
    Through the years since my departure from the SE MI Area. Believe it or not, this is where I come to see what my Fellow sluggies are up to. Sure, I visit the SLG Website to see information updates. And yep I am still receiving those Yahoo Group postings about what is coming up.
    All in all, this is your personal accounting of SLG. You have done a great service to the Grove by posting here…. DON’T STOP PLEASE…

    In Service to Our Gods,
    Todd ‘Toad’ McGuire

    PS: I still have my Sluggy Necklace sitting on my Altar to remind me from whence I came. :)
    Tuesday, January 11th 2011 @ 12:57 PM

Leave a Reply

