The Daylight Hours Dwindle, As Do My Topic Ideas

Another day-late entry, not as much because I was busy or tired yesterday (though I was both) but more because I didn’t have any hugely pressing issues on my mind to write about. Has it finally happened? Have I run out of ideas? Do I need to start doing repeats of old articles?

Well, a few things I can note this week:

* Our Imbolc and Spring Equinox ritual dates are set for February 5th and March 19th, respectively, at the Friends Meeting. The basement space was open for our first choices, so no Sunday or one-week-too-late rituals as we’ve had to do a few times before. Of course, if we had our own land/building, we wouldn’t have to worry about having our rituals on the days we wanted, but that’s a long way off.

* Speaking of temple space, I saw an interesting link from a Buddhist monastery listing the temple services it provides. It might be interesting for us to list similar services that I and/or the Grove can provide, though I don’t know how people would react if we listed cash prices for those services, and I know how overwhelmed I’d be if I even implied that I’d do them for free! Money concerns aside (or not), any thoughts from my five readers on what services they do or don’t expect their Grove to be able to provide?

* And speaking of Buddhists (it’s almost like I planned this sequence of paragraphs, but i didn’t, really), I had done a brief interview with a local reporter over the summer about local churches’ views on GLBT issues, mainly on how open we were to homosexual members and whether we had special support groups for them, to which I (and apparently most of the churches in Ann Arbor) said “sure” and “no, it’s not really an issue for us”, respectively. The reporter said it would be in the upcoming issue of the Crazy Wisdom Community Journal, which came out in September. Being super-egotistical as usual, I only just remembered this a few days ago, and went to check the online version of the Journal, to find… no article. Maybe it’s not news that Ann Arbor churches are more accepting of GLBT folk?

And that’s about all I can think to write about for now. Maybe after I turn 42 on Friday, old age will bring me some sudden new insight that I will need to share with everyone! Until then, I hope to see folks at Coffee Hour on Friday, and if not, well then not too long after that.

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “The Daylight Hours Dwindle, As Do My Topic Ideas

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by melissa:
    As reader # 4, I would like to comment that I think it’s an interesting idea for grove members/clergy to charge for services through the grove. My first thought was how would you certify that people were competent? I suppose you could link it up with all the training programs though. Might actually convince more people to go through the training programs… .
    There. See, I commented. :)
    Tuesday, November 16th 2010 @ 7:19 AM

    Posted by Rob Henderson:
    That’s the intent, it would hopefully encourage all of our would-be clergy to actually get the training to do it properly. That and word of mouth (real or virtual) would quickly establish who had the mad magic(k)al skills and who didn’t.

    Odd to think how little we at SLG get for what we do compared to other groups. We averaged $2 per person in donations for our Samhain, which was sadly way more than we’d gotten the previous year. But MEC ran a Samhain event with a $20 cover charge, which people apparently actually attended, and the healers who advertise in the CW Journal charge $75 and up for the kind of thing Rodney usually does for free. Once again I think I picked the wrong religion, shoulda been a New Ager!
    Tuesday, November 16th 2010 @ 5:41 PM

Leave a Reply

