Isaac Bonewits 1949-2010

Between the move (still underway) and some computer problems, I don’t have much time to write this evening.

For those who haven’t yet heard, Isaac passed away last Thursday. I only ever met him twice, so I don’t know that I have anything insightful to say about him, so I’ll post links to ADF’s bio on him, and Michael’s LJ entry about him.

The  first time I can remember hearing of him was in Margot Adler’s Drawing Down the Moon, which I read way back in 1990 when I was trying to figure out whether I was a a Pagan. Isaac’s vision of an outward-looking form of Paganism sounded good to me, though it would be another five years before I got involved with ADF. Now that I’m older, and spent time in both ADF and in groups that don’t have that focus on public service and outreach, the vision that Isaac had for ADF resonates even more strongly with me. I just hope that I can honor his vision as well as it deserves to be honored.

There’ll be a memorial service for Isaac at the Summerland Festival this Thursday at 9 PM Eastern, which thanks to the dumb luck of my moving schedule I won’t be able to attend, but I will certainly be lighting a candle for him and thinking about him and everything he’s done for ADF, and in so doing, for me personally. I ask everyone else out there to do the same.

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

Leave a Reply

