Short Summer Song

Not much to report this week, Grove-wise, beyond the preparations for Lughnasadh next weekend. The schedule still isn’t filled, so I guess people will have to put up with me yammering about our Grove deities or some such. And I still need to come up with a topic for my Greek talk on Friday night, and a theme for the ritual on Saturday night. Well, I *did* do that paper on prostitution in ancient Athens, which might make for a doable workshop, but probably not much of a ritual. (At least, not one that any women would want to attend!)

The main ritual is set, at least. We tried doing an online session for Liturgists’ Roundtable this past week, but nobody logged on, except for Liz who was upstairs and apparently weirded out by seeing what Rod typed and hearing me talk at the same time. >8) Since so few people attended last year’s, we’re going to try doing the same thing again and hopefully the super big surprise part in the middle will still be a surprise for many of us.

Getting ready for this year’s festival will be an extra challenge for me this year, since I’m now in the process of moving. Much as I want to avoid the stigma of living in my Mom’s basement, my current housemate is just getting harder to live with, and living with Mom will let me save up so I can get a proper apartment later. For now, I just have to make darn sure I know exactly what I need for the weekend, and not lose track of where it is.

Sadly, the move also means I have to drop any plans of driving to Columbus on Sunday to attend Three Cranes Grove‘s ritual at the Dublin Irish Festival. Exciting as the prospect of an ADF rite with hundreds (or even thousands?) or people attending is, I can’t take that much time off from moving. Probably just as well, since I wouldn’t have been able to head that way until after our own Lughnasadh was done, leaving me perhaps as much as five hours of sleep before a four hour drive. Maybe next year, if they’re sensible enough to schedule it on a different weekend from our High Day.  >8)

So hopefully I’ll see you all at some point on Friday or Saturday, and if not, have a happy Lughnasadh!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “Short Summer Song

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Lisbet:
    Actually I was more frustrated than “weirded out,” because I could hear muffled voices coming from downstairs, but there was no typing on the IRC chat screen, so I knew I was missing out on something.
    Monday, August 2nd 2010 @ 12:42 AM

Leave a Reply

