The Not-So-Secret Garden

Nothing huge to report this week, the only Grove activity before today was the business meeting, and those are seldom worth discussing after the fact anyway.  >8)

I went to the Botanical Gardens today and bought a pepper plant from their greenhouse, with this plus the eight plants I got from the Friends of the Ypsi Library yesterday I have quite the little greenhouse going here myself! Sadly I can’t leave any of them outside, because people in this neighborhood actually will steal plants from the yard (yes, I’m moving next month, thank the gods) but I have a little grow-light here so they should be fine inside. I also bought a stuffed animal version of a great blue heron that makes a heron-call noise when you squeeze it, which is definitely gonna go on the Nature Spirits altar at our next High Day!

Nobody showed up for the Modern Druidry class, well I take that back, one did but he really didn’t need to. >8)  Richard has been a member of SLG longer than I have, so other than the origin of the phrase “bíodh se”, there wasn’t much to cover. I only ever intended the class to be an introductory one for folks who had never attended any of our rituals, or maybe only one or two and hadn’t quite figured out what was going on. So either we have no new people interested in our Grove, or they all have it figured out already! I did briefly contemplate the thought of an advanced class series before I remembered that An Bruane is really our advanced class series, and I need to find a better way to remind folks of that.

Still, Richard and I explored the conservatory and some of the outside gardens, and that was fun. I still remember my first trip there when I was in fourth grade, and my astonishment at being able to see desert plants in Michigan in the winter. Since the last time I was there, they’ve added a children’s garden, which includes a maze with gates that allow them to change the pathways regularly (ooh!) and a garden where they let the kids harvest the crops when they’re ready. Sounds like a great way for Pagan parents to help their kids connect to the agricultural cycles that mattered to much to the Ancients. That, or taking them to an actual farm. I definitely need to ask Skip at Wellspring about where we can get some fresh emmer wheat seeds and get those planted again.

So yeah, a quiet mid-May week for the Grove. Next week, an update on Wellspring preparations, an update on whether my new plants have survived one week of my care, and I’ll address a few myths about our Grove. (And not the good kind of myth, either!)

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “The Not-So-Secret Garden

  1. (Comments from the original post on the old site:)

    Posted by Candy:
    There are bad myths about our Grove??

    Sounds like you had a good time, even if no one showed. I wanted to go, just to check out the gardens, but things didn’t work out that way. *shrugs* next time maybe. :)
    Sunday, May 16th 2010 @ 11:40 PM

    Posted by Rob Henderson:
    The Gardens themselves are definitely worth the trip. Maybe I should just schedule a trip there next May and not worry about the class!
    Sunday, May 16th 2010 @ 11:46 PM

    Posted by Candy:
    I like that idea!
    Monday, May 17th 2010 @ 7:30 AM

Leave a Reply

