Planting And Planning For The Summer

So I had hoped to go up to Fox’s farm to help with planting this weekend, but the scheduling didn’t work out, and anyway I’m been almost constantly exhausted since starting my new job, so it’s probably all for the best. I did at least manage to plant my seeds from our Spring Equinox rite, and those have already sprouted, so that’s something!

This week looks to be very busy for me Grove- and ADF-wise, between my Clergy Council journey work on Monday, Beltaine ritual planning on Tuesday, nemeton cleanup on Thursday, Coffee Hour on Friday, and then the big one, Michigan Mayfest on Saturday, and of course all the preparations I need to do for that one. The ritual outline is set, but I do still need to get my notes ready for my presentation on Ana, not to mention sorting out all of the Grove merchandise here in my apartment and getting it loaded into the car, and getting all of our publications ready for the table as well. And somewhere in there I have to work, and get two minor dental surgeries. (At least I should be able to talk by Saturday, wouldn’t that have made my Ana presentation amusing!) Hopefully we’ll be able to share our ritual stylings and our spiritual workings with a large audience of interested folks at the festival, and maybe raise some funds at the same time.

Looking ahead to the summer, now that I have a working car again, I can think in terms of attending events outside of Ann Arbor for the first time in eight years. Wellspring is my highest priority, of course, but what else? Midnight Flame up north in September is tempting. (And before my two readers from Ohio mention Summerlands, that’s the same weekend as Detroit’s Pagan Pride Day, and if I have to choose, I really need to go to that one.) And I want to visit my grandmother in Maryland at some point during the summer, so a stop by one or two Groves on the way would be good, and maybe a side trip to Nashville so I can finally see the Parthenon there, something I’ve wanted to do for decades now. And on a similar theme, I’d love to go to the Mt. Olympus amusement park in the Wisconsin Dells and get my picture taken with Zeus and Poseidon, hee! I’m sure I won’t be able to do all of these things, not on my (admittedly slightly larger than it was) income, but it’s good to know that I have options.

And of course, if any of my six readers, have any other ideas of places I should visit this summer, let me know!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “Planting And Planning For The Summer

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Lisbet:
    It will be so cool if you make it to Wellspring this year!
    Monday, April 19th 2010 @ 12:07 AM

    Posted by Rob Henderson:
    The real question is whether I can afford a hotel room, or do I have to sleep in my car. >8)
    Monday, April 19th 2010 @ 12:25 AM

Leave a Reply

