Through the Doorway of Janus

Nothing too exciting to report on this week. Sure, it’s a new year and all that, but that’s not a particularly pagan holiday in my mind. It’s funny, I have to keep reminding myself that this is (by the most commonly used definition, if not the technical one) a new decade. Is it that this past decade has been so full of strife and turmoil, or is it because we never did agree on a name for it? (I always wanted it to be “the Aughties”.) (And we’re probably never going to agree on a name for the current decade either, I bet.)

This year certainly holds promise for our Grove’s participation in big activities with other groups in the area, between our having a room suite again at ConVocation (assuming we can get that last $100 we need by next week, and yes we’re still taking donations!), and participating in Michigan Mayfest (in, er, April), and the nearest Pagan Pride Day actually not scheduling its event on our High Day weekend, we’ll have many more opportunities to share our lore and traditions with folks who haven’t had a chance to attend our events. The real trick, of course, will be me getting my car back on the road, but I think that may actually be within striking distance now. Time will tell.

I was going to fill out this week’s entry with the article I wrote for the most recent Shining Lakes News, but given that I posted the PDF version online today, that would be silly. You can go read it there, and also check out Val’s article on Saturnalia traditions.

Next week, I’ll find an actual topic for the blog article, or die trying!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “Through the Doorway of Janus

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Melissa Hill:
    I didn’t know about the Mayfest. It looks like fun, maybe our lansing crew can make a trip down there too! (I might even get some babysitting for my little ones from Grandma since she lives down that way!)
    Monday, January 4th 2010 @ 1:34 PM

    Posted by Rob Henderson:
    We’ll have a merchant/info table all day, plus we’re doing a ritual at 2 and a presentation at 7:30 if the schedule holds. I hope to see you then!
    Monday, January 4th 2010 @ 6:30 PM

Leave a Reply

