And Next Time, Carcassonne!

So I didn’t go to see the new Star Trek movie last night! No, I’m not such an obsessive fan that I refuse to see a revamped version of it, and I’m actually nowhere near as much into Trek as people seem to assume. Just because I know the plot of every episode doesn’t mean I’m obsessive, it means I’ve seen every episode at least once and have a good memory. (If you want to see how I talk about a TV show I’ve followed obsessively, ask me about Doctor Who or Lost or Babylon 5 some time.) No, my employers all went to see it last night on the gigantic IMAX screen in Dearborn, and I had to pass, because I’d already committed to attend our Grove’s Game Night. After only one person besides me showed up last time, I probably could have been forgiven for cancelling, but it was only our second attempt at running one this year, and I know that nothing kills meeting attendance like finding out that the guy running it bailed with almost no warning. Besides, I can (and will) see the movie later. Happily, Paul and Valerie stopped by on their way home from an appointment in Adrian, so we actually did use the space for actual game playing, in this case Rummikub. So if the attendance goes up by one person every month, I’d be quite happy!

I do want to see us get Game Night going again, not just so I can play games with people I know (although that’s a good reason), not just so the Grove has another social activity that new folks will feel comfortable at (although that’s a good reason too), but because it give us a chance to work with the good folks at the WRAP Center, who are letting us use their space for our Game Night. I like getting the chance to work with another local non-profit group, and hopefully we can learn from each other. And hopefully they’ll remember to put us on the calendar so that some of their own members will show up to Game Night, and also the people working at the Aut Bar next door won’t come wandering by at 11 o’clock because they think somebody’s broken into the building because nobody told them we were going to be there. (See, I’m learning something already: other non-profits are just as disorganized as we are!)

I’d also like to see us get back to being more involved in other pagan events in the area, but if there’s an open pagan group in Washtenaw County besides us, well I sure don’t know about ’em. I do know about some events coming up in the Detroit area, but (a) Detroit is not an easy jaunt for someone whose car is still in need of repair, and (b) the events all seem to be on Saturdays, and I work Saturdays. And we can argue whether metro Detroit is really “in our area”, but that’s a matter of opinion of course. But lately, I’ve definitely been feeling like we haven’t promoted ourselves as well as we could have to other area pagans, and I feel mild guilt about that. Just a mild one, though. Serving my Grove and my Gods has to be my priority, and I think I’ve done a decent job of that, at least.

Speaking of which, I need to go get started on the two Clergy Training Program courses I still need to get done. Those of you going to Wellspring, think of me hunched over my computer writing about comparative mythology while you dance the bonfire!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “And Next Time, Carcassonne!

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Candy:
    I saw the Star Trek movie. :P Wish we could have made the game night, but unfortunately, I am usually scheduled for that night.

    I’m surprised there’s not a Pagan Pride day in Ann Arbor.

    Anyway, just stopping in to say hi. :)
    Candy
    Monday, May 18th 2009 @ 1:12 AM

    Posted by Rob Henderson:
    PPD asks that no two events are held within fifty miles or each other, and the Detroit and Jackson folks were there first. Besides which, who besides us would take the time to organize one? > 8 )

Leave a Reply

