The Last Time I Was In New Jersey

A brief entry this week, partly because I’ve been a bit busy this weekend and partly to balance out the novella I wrote last week.

Chris Sherbak flagged a few photos on Facebook that Jenni Hunt had posted in one of her albums, showing me from an ADF Leadership Retreat back in 1998. I don’t think I look any older now than I did then, which is probably not a sign of vanity so much as a sign of how old I looked then. (The joke I told in college is that when I was 17, people thought I looked 26, when I was 20, people thought I looked 26, and if I could keep that up for another twenty or thirty years, I’d be in good shape!) More poignant, though, is the photos’ reminder that I actually used to hold down a white collar job that paid me enough that I could actually afford to go to weekend retreats in New Jersey and attend every Wellspring. I don’t know whether to feel sad that I haven’t been to any festival since 2002, or impressed that I’ve somehow still maintained my interest level in ADF without the face-to-face interactions that seem so important to anyone else. Then again, I’m the guy who spent his teenage years talking to people online more than face-to-face (and this was in the 80’s when 1200bps was fast and communicating online took a lot of patience), so maybe not much of a surprise there. Still, I hope I can manage to afford at least one festival trip this year, and while I definitely won’t have the money quickly enough to even consider Wellspring this month, I’m going to try for either Summerland or Midnight Flame in the late summer. While e-mail is good for a lot of things, it’s still not as helpful at actually building new relationships as personal contact is, even I have to admit that.

Speaking of doing things in person, this week will be our second attempt at reviving Game Night as a Grove event. Rodney and I were alone at the last one, but being the persistent types that we are, we’re going to try again. And again, and probably at least once more after that. I saw this week that there’s a pirate-themed version of Munchkin now out, so hopefully my Mother’s Day check will be big enough for me to get that on Friday and we can try it out on Saturday. “We” hopefully being more than me and Rodney. >8) If you’re free on Saturday evening, please do stop by the WRAP building (316 Braun Ct. in Ann Arbor) and join us!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “The Last Time I Was In New Jersey

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Jamie:
    I am planning on Summerlands (which I love) so I hope you can make it to that one!
    Monday, May 11th 2009 @ 12:33 AM

Leave a Reply

