I’ve Brought You Some Roses Mistaken For Lilies

No huge, grand article this time around. Those of you who know me personally know that I work for a flower shop, and that I’ve just managed to survive three fourteen-plus hour workdays in a row, which didn’t leave me a lot of time to write, or even think about writing. Those of you who don’t know me personally, well now you know at least that much about me!

One amusing thing did happen last night that’s worth noting here. My very lastest delivery of the day was to one of our local hospitals. I did the usual, went up to the room, knocked on the door, went in, and found an older woman lying in bed with her family seated around her. I asked her name to make sure I was in the right room, asked where she wanted me to put the flowers, put the flowers down in the appointed place, and turned to leave. “Wait,” one of the family members said. I turned back to them, a bit puzzled. One of the seated women asked me, “Aren’t you the pastor?” I was tempted to say, “Well I am a sort of pastor, but I’m pretty sure I’m not the pastor you were waiting for!” I just said, “No, I’m the flower guy” and left. So there you have it, even wearing a grey hooded sweatshirt and carrying flowers around, I apparently still look like a clergyperson. The real question is, the next time I make a pastoral visit to a Pagan patient, will they mistake me for a florist?

For those of you who will be at ConVocation in a few days, enjoy! I won’t be able to attend myself, but many of my Grovemates will, including Rodney Cox who will be giving a few classes. I’m still hoping that with a little planning and a lot of donations, we can have some kind of official SLG presence there next year. In the meantime, since I can only be at ConVo in spirit, I’ll write an article in the spirit of that community and consider the nature of joint efforts between pagan groups.

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

Leave a Reply

