Dollies, Buggies, Connies. and Communities

Various small posts combined, because I can!

Snow, snow, and more snow. Well at least I didn’t have to drive in it today! I know I talk about Danu’s blanket being a good thing, but this is getting to be a bit much. Especially since I’m supposed to be convincing everyone to join in the Brídeog festivities coming up in a few weeks. For those new to the blog and/or the Grove, the Brídeog is an adaptation of an old Irish custom where a group of us travel from house to house, carrying our Bríd dolly with us, singing song and collecting food for Food Gatherers. Kind of like Christmas caroling, only we carry am idol around your house. We only have one person signed up so far to be visited, and we always need people to join us in our travels. Contact me (734-262-1052 or robh@shininglakes.org) if you’d like to take part in either fashion. (Given how far dispersed the blog readers are, I guess I should ask folks to be realistic and only ask for a visit if they’re within fifty or so miles of Ann Arbor.)

Speaking of the snow making things difficult for anyone to get anything done, one group who doesn’t have that problem at all: stoneflies! Yes, these amazing insects have found a great ecological niche in which to survive and thrive: streams in January. Their motto: “Live and breed in the stream when the fish aren’t around.” The Huron River Watershed Council, with whom we’ve done many service projects throughout the years, are again sending folks out into the rivershed to take stonefly samples to gauge the health of the river system. It’s too late to sign up for this one, but we wish our Grove members who will be taking part both luck and warmth, and hopefully it’s not too early to put a bug in everyone’s ear (ha ha) about the spring and fall stream search events. Keep an eye on the Grove schedule page, we always include the HRWC events that we take part in.

Jumping topics with no attempt at a segue, Rod told me that ADF Vice Archdruid Kirk Thomas will be visiting ConVocation this year, making it that much more embarrassing that I almost certainly won’t be able to attend because of my work schedule. Well I probably could be there just for Sunday, but I don’t know that a two hour appearance would count for much. I’m still aiming for an appearance at Wellspring this year, and I’m hoping that I can convince our Grove members to pledge money during the next few months so we can get a suite at ConVo in 2010, like we used to. Actually, we only got the full suite in 2002 and 2006, so we’re due to get one again in 2010, right? Like the Winter Olympics? >8) Keep an eye out for Shining Lakes News in March for details, if we do decide to make the attempt. Our last attempt at raising money for ConVocation was, er, sad. I’m open to any and all suggestions to make it work this time. (Hey, Ohio Groves! Ever been to a pagan convention and helped put on a room party? Now’s your chance!)

And finally, I spent the afternoon getting SLG a presence on LiveJournal, MySpace, and Facebook. (Well, in between watching football plays I did.) As it was with this blog a year ago, I don’t know exactly what these online efforts will accomplish, but I think it’s worth the attempt. No promises that we’ll keep any of them around indefinitely, that will depend on how much of a pain they are to maintain. On the other hand, if we get eight new people at the next ritual who tell me they found out about us from Facebook, I’ll be keeping that in mind as well! Sign up for any and all of them at:

http://community.livejournal.com/slgadf/
http://www.myspace.com/slgadf
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/group.php?gid=49187967046

And don’t forget our other online presences that are available to members and non-members alike: our actual official Web site; our Announcement mailing list on Yahoo; and of course, this blog.

(Oh, and if anyone can come up with a better looking event announcement than this one, let me know. I think it looks okay, but I never claimed to be a graphics designer.)

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “Dollies, Buggies, Connies. and Communities

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by Kestrel:
    When I was in California, many groves contributed to the the ADF suite, and it worked fine. Pantheacon is the convention over there. What I suggest is that you start posting about it around May June on the ADF Hospitality list and see what groves want to participate. We could get several Midwest and surrounding regions groves participating. I know for Pantheacon we had groves from Arizona, Oregon, Washington, and Alaska participating as well as those in California. Put out feelers on the Leadership list also.

    Blessings,

    Kestrelo:)

Leave a Reply

