The Meta-Article, or, Blog on Blog

Even though Danu’s blanket of snow melted yesterday (we hit 61 degrees???), this is still a good time of year to be introspective, to take stock of one’s life situation and to make decisions about what to do next. And maybe even to make some resolutions.

So here we are, nearly one year after I began this experimental online presence. It was quite a year in non-pagan news, of course, between elections and economic crises, but this isn’t a political or financial blog. I talked about my Grove and our practices and my own take on a few paganish issues. People read the blog – well, maybe they did, it’s hard to tell >8) – but this still leaves the question of whether I should keep on doing it. I promised myself when I began that I’d do weekly entries for a year, and that year will be done in a couple of weeks. So should I continue, or should I formally end the experiment and do something else with my time instead?

I can’t deny that there are other things I could be doing with this weekly writing time, which might or might not be more important, depending on who you ask. I’m all too aware that every hour I spend writing these entries is an hour I’m not getting my Clergy Training Program work done, and getting that done is not only important to me, but as of October I’ve kinda sorta promised the Clergy Council that I would. Once that year is up, I haven’t promised anyone more blogging. And I suspect that my Grove would rather have me be an official ADF clergyperson than have a blog that most of them don’t even read.

Who does read this blog, then? If I’m going by the number of responses posted, it’s pretty much just Michael and Liz. >8) I kid, of course. I’ve been doing online conversations for over twenty years, and I certainly know by now that a lack of responses doesn’t imply a lack of readers. A lot of responses only means that the article in question was either controversial or whiny. (And that’s not a whiny request for replies to this article, but if you want to interpret it that way and actually post a response, go for it!) The intended readership I’ve always kept in mind were two groups: people in this area who don’t know much about what our Grove is and does; and ADF members from other parts of the world who want some insight into what our Grove is and does, especially those who are just getting their own Grove or Protogrove started. Sort of an inspiration to others, or maybe a warning.

So what options do I have now?

* End it now. A little sad, but it would free up my time to do other things.

* Stop doing weekly entries, but just post whenever I feel like it. Given my schedule these days, that would give the same results as “end it now”, but would be less honest. I don’t want people coming here looking for new stuff, finding nothing, and assuming our Grove is defunct or at least inactive.

* Do monthly posts instead of weekly. This would free up some of my time, but would people bother to follow monthly blogs? I don’t think I’ve even seen such a thing.

* Get someone else in SLG to write it. If anyone else had ever expressed any interest in writing posts for this blog, this might be a viable option. >8)

* Keep doing weekly posts, but make them shorter. Actually I like this suggestion (credit to Gen for it), the real question is whether I can keep my mouth, er, my typing hand quiet enough to do it. >8)

* Keep doing weekly posts as before. The big question for this one is whether I want to keep devoting that level of time and effort to it. The two other questions here being, (a) do I really have enough to say to do this for another year? And (b) what about the articles where I talk about our upcoming High Day, and our past traditions for that High Day? Do I just post last year’s article, or do I spend my time writing another article with pretty much the exact same content? I can see either one of those getting annoying.

And my decision… will be posted here in a few weeks. Be back here then!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

PS – In a further effort to expand our online presence in the hopes of keeping our activity level semi-high between High Days, I invite my Grovemates and everyone else to follow me on Twitter, which I’m enjoying a lot more than I expected. I still hate instant messaging, but I like this less-intrusive system. I’m also open to suggestions on which social networking site, if any, to have a Grove presence on. I spend next to no time on social networking sites, between my lack of time for such things and my dialup connection, but I’d like to explore the possibility and would love to hear from the people who actually use them.

One thought on “The Meta-Article, or, Blog on Blog

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old site:)

    Posted by -Fred.:
    I just started reading this week. Keep up the weekly posts. ;-)
    Sunday, December 28th 2008 @ 9:17 PM

    Posted by Liz:
    Do whatever feels best to you! It’s your time, and you know best what you need to accomplish. But I will always read it if you post anything, since it shows up on my LJ friends page.

    I also suggest LiveJournal as a social networking site. It’s free, easy to use…you can set up communities and invite people to join. ADF has a couple communities there too. You could even set it up so that all grove members with LJs have posting access. If you want, I can even set it up for you. Just let me know.
    Monday, December 29th 2008 @ 1:13 AM

    Posted by Kestrel:
    I think you should continue it, but not commit to weekly. I understand about time constraints. I like Liz’s suggestion about LJ, although I post to mine rarely. Twitter I will not use. I hate instant messaging and avoid it like the plague.

    Sorry I missed Yule but I was still recovering from pneumonia. It really kicked my butt. Still not 100% but getting better.
    Monday, December 29th 2008 @ 11:38 AM

Leave a Reply

