Those The Gods Have Joined…

As I mentioned earlier, there’s not a whole lot of Grove activity to comment upon in August. I’m just happy that September is finally here, and that the minutely lower temperatures (and noticeably lower gas prices) should bring people to our events once again. Between our own Fall Equinox rite, our leading someone else’s high day rite in Wyandotte, and the HRWC‘s River Roundup and Bug ID Day, I hope everyone in the area will be able to take part in one or more of them.

So what did I do this week that was pagan-related? I sat around and complained about how no pagan events in August get any attendance, as I always do. No, not really. Even if I were like that in real life, I have plenty of better things to do with my time. But more so this week, as I actually did have a pagan ritual of a sort to attend. It was a wedding, and I was the one officiating it!

I don’t want to go into great detail here, out of respect for the couple who got married. A wedding ceremony is probably the most intensely personal ritual that anyone will ever take part in, and sometimes people want to share that with everyone, and sometimes they don’t. And since I don’t have explicit permission to share, I won’t. (If they decide that they really do want to share, I’ll add a response to this post.)

But I will say that it was a beautiful day out, it was a lovely ceremony, and I’m very happy to have been involved with it. Every human culture in human history has had some kind of wedding ceremony, and officiating the rituals that continue this ancient tradition of lifelong union, of escaping the evil and finding the good as the ancient Greeks said, makes me connected to the priests of old in a way that nothing else has done. Even leading a High Day rite seems ephemeral in comparison, I mean, Indo-European rites have only been around for a few millennia now. Even though I’ve not yet been married myself, I’ve seen how powerful a commitment it can be, and it still awes me.
Anyway, I hope everyone has a fun Labor Day weekend! I will be doing more work on the ADF Clergy Training Program, in part to make sure I can continue performing wedding ceremonies in the future.

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

P.S. – Yes, I’m legal to perform weddings in Michigan, if you’d like me to perform yours, contact me!

P.P.S. – Yes, I’m quite willing to perform commitment ceremonies for same-sex couples, as long as you know that I can’t legally marry them in Michigan, much as I’d like to. Here’s hoping that that law will be changed within my lifetime!

Leave a Reply

