With The Putter Selection And The Fountain’s Reflection, I’ll Be Golfing With Myself

Not much to talk about this week, as I mentioned in an earlier entry July and August are the slowest period of the year for SLG.  Today was our scheduled social event for the summer, an outing to the local miniature golf course.  Many folks warned me ahead of thime that they couldn’t attendm, because of various previous commitments to other summer social events, so I wasn’t expecting many people to be there.  Sure enough, I was the only one.  Ah well, there are worse things than minigolfing by oneself.  (I got a 39 and a 47, for those keeping score, which I assume is none of you.  >8)  At our business meeting this week I’m going to seriously propse just not scheduling any events between Lughnasadh and Labor Day next year.  (Maybe leave Coffee Hour just in case.  We’ll see how many attend this week.)  Plenty of other churches shut down during the summer (my dad’s former Unitarian church did) and I’m sure I could be doing something more useful with my time than being the only one at an event.

On the brighter side, or at least the more active side, we’ve once again had an article published about us in a local magazine!  You may remember my entry on our Summer Solstice rite where I mention a pair of reporters attending the ritual and suffering through the rain alongside the rest of us.  Well, the City Guide was published last week, and our article is indeed the one and only article in the Religion section of the Guide.  (You can see our listing here, under “Neo-Pagan”, but the article doesn’t appear to be online.)  It’s a decent article, which spend more time talking about the details of what actually happened at our rituals than the background behind ADF and our ritual format, but I’m sure that makes a better article anyway.  Intriguingly, there’s no mention of the rain at all.  Maybe it wasn’t a big deal after all.

If you’d like to see the article, stop by any Coffee Hour between now and next July.  It’s a yearly publication, and Borders does carry it all year.  And you know you want to join us at Coffee Hour, unless of course it’s August.  >8)

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

One thought on “With The Putter Selection And The Fountain’s Reflection, I’ll Be Golfing With Myself

  1. (Comments from the original post on our old blog:)

    Posted by Liz:
    Huh…I just threw the City Guide in the recycling in a cleaning frenzy. I’ll have to go dig it out and actually read it now. Thanks for the heads up!
    Monday, August 18th 2008 @ 11:14 PM

Leave a Reply

