Caught Between a Park and a Wood Place

The warmth of spring has well and truly arrived here in the Ann Arbor area, and so I turn to the thing I always do when the warmth gets here: I go inside and write. >8) No, I’ve been known to go outside once in a while, but I’m working on the ADF Clergy Training Program, and this time of year seems perfect for working on the Nature Awareness course. Among the various bits I need to write about is:

3. Describe the park or patch of untended nature closest to your home and what kind of park it is. (minimum 100 words)

This gives me a difficult decision, because my house… Well why don’t I let Google Maps show you:

My house is in the center, across the street (behind the giant green arrow that somebody stuck into my mailbox) is a city park, and right behind my house is untended forest land. You can see the path in the photo leading off to the east, where many acres at the rear of the various properties on my street are still wild forest. Well, as wild as forest gets in Ypsilanti anyway.

I hadn’t really considered the space where I live to be liminal in that context, but yeah, I guess I do live halfway between tended nature and untended nature. I have a feeling I’m going to go over a hundred words for this one. >8)

If you’re enjoying the weather as much as I am, make sure you get out and enjoy a large dose of the outdoors (tended or not) before it gets too much hotter. (I admit it, I’m no fan of summer. I’d rather be cold than hot, that’s just me.) And if you live in the Ann Arbor area, don’t forget about our Grove’s community service projects with the Huron River Watershed Council. It’s too late to register for next week’s River Roundup, but you can still help out with Bug ID Day. Lots of untrained folks like you and me can help the experts measure the quality of the Huron River and the various streams in its rivershed by sorting our the insect samples that will be collected at the Roundup. It’s on May 4th (the day after our Beltaine), it’s easy, and it does make a difference!

Rev. Rob Henderson
Senior Druid, Shining Lakes Grove, ADF

Related Reading:

The ADF Clergy Training Program (only viewable if you’re an ADF member, sorry everyone else!): http://www.adf.org/members/org/clergy-council/ctp/outline.html

Leave a Reply

